Moderator Control Panel ]

Help Please/Dubbing Loop

Saltwater Fly Tying

Help Please/Dubbing Loop

Postby AMJohnston » Tue Mar 02, 2010 6:40 pm

My other post got hijacked so I thought I'd try again.
The fellow I mentioned in my post on tying with racoon strips says that to reduce the weight of his flies, instead of using strips for the head of the fly, he cuts the racoon hair off the hide and then takes the hair and puts it in a dubbing loop that he then wraps around the head. (See link for what the finished product looks like. http://pikeflyfishingarticles.blogspot. ... unnys.html)
I can't for the life of me figure out how to disperse the clipped hair evenly along the loop and, although Im no expert in the whole dubbing thing, I'm not sure I have seen a dubbing loop used in this way.
Does anyone have any suggestions or advice for me on how to pull this off?

Re: Help Please/Dubbing Loop

Postby Emerson » Tue Mar 02, 2010 7:42 pm

Andy,
Here is a long video but it shows how to make the dubbing loop or as he calls it a dubbing brush. You should use some dubbing wax...this helps to keep the fur lined up in the loop. You actually spread the hair out in a loop ...twist the loop then wrap it on the hook. In this video, he used wire....probably you would use just your tying thread. I typically use mono to do this or flat waxed nylon...you need something tough. Wire works well as you probably want something that looks ugly!

http://www.theweeklyfly.com/index.php/T ... /sasquatch

Just pay attention to when he does the loop..he calls it a dubbing brush..it happens at 8:45 into the video...

Not to hijack this thread but I have tied this fly and have down well on smallmouths!
expelled by el Compressor

Emerson

Postby toddkfly » Tue Mar 02, 2010 8:01 pm