Moderator Control Panel ]

Favorite Reels

Questions and Answers about the basics of flyfishing for newbies and the old timers that just can't remember

Favorite Reels

Postby ptfranze » Tue Oct 16, 2012 10:56 am

So as I said I am very new to salt water fly fishing. I am trying to figure out what kind of set up to buy. I have looked through all the topics and have seen plenty that have talked about rods (I am looking at the Redington Predator 8 weight) and seen plenty about what type of line to use etc.

However I didn't see anything suggesting what types of reels. I was just wondering what everyone's favorite reel to use was or what a good reel would be to pair with the Redington?

Thanks everyone

Re: Favorite Reels

Postby BCflyfisher2012 » Tue Oct 16, 2012 2:45 pm

Everyone has their own favorites for reels, some more expensive than others; but my being a grad student, well...i tend to find the less expensive stuff and see how it works. I found this little gem at the recommendation of a friend and paired it with my St. Croix 8wt. Together they've stood up to 13 Albies in a day with Capt. Sarah and countless stripers on the Chesapeake Bay. In my opinion the best bang I couldve gotten for my buck. The reel is made by Albright but sold through SeaLevel FlyFishing. No affiliation to me, just some good guys with good products.

http://sealevelflyfish.com/reels/albright-tempest-reel/

best of luck!
Bradley

"Spend it while you can, money's contraband, you can't take it with you when you go" ~ Jimmy Buffett

Postby bhorsley » Tue Oct 16, 2012 5:04 pm

Redington Reels have also been very good for the money
growing old ain't for sissies
Pure-T-Mommicked

Postby kendalloz » Tue Oct 16, 2012 7:32 pm

You should also consider a used Tibor if you want to save some money. They will last almost for ever and Tibor will service them for a small fee even if you buy them used. You will not really have to replace it...ever.

Postby flyinby » Tue Oct 16, 2012 10:10 pm