Moderator Control Panel ]

Hello from ct.

Questions and Answers about the basics of flyfishing for newbies and the old timers that just can't remember

Hello from ct.

Postby Jbob » Wed Aug 17, 2011 1:06 pm

Hello. Just wanted to say hi. I have been fishing long island sound for many years with light tackle and just this year finally picked up a fly rod. I'm sorry I didn't do it sooner! I haven't caught the numbers that I usually do this year. Could be that I'm doing something wrong or it could be that we just aren't getting as many fish in the sound as we used to. Or maybe a little of both. Nonetheless I've been having a ball and have learned quite a bit this year. I used to try and save all my vacation days for the fall bass/bluefish blitzes along the beaches here but the last few seasons we aren't getting the big runs of baitfish that we used to. Adult bunker (and peanuts ) have been scarce to non existent for the last 4 5 years. I got the Albie bug something terrible last year and made my first ever trip to cape lookout. I gotta say, I'm going to try to make it down for a few days Every year from now on ! You guys are spoiled! Anyways, I like the site. Lots of good info here. I promise to keep my incendiary opinions about fisheries management to myself. And cant wait to come down and hang into a few fat alberts!
Hopefully I can get a couple on the fly rod this year.

Re: Hello from ct.

Postby kendalloz » Wed Aug 17, 2011 3:18 pm

Welcome! And let us know if/when you are at Harkers as maybe was can meet you to say hello. :D

Postby Jbob » Wed Aug 17, 2011 11:30 pm